108 Holy Number

Discussion in 'Science' started by garry420, Sep 23, 2015.

  1. garry420

    garry420 Well-Known Member

    The number 108 is very auspicious for Hindus. It is the number of beads of a rosary and of many other things in Indian cosmology. But why is this number considered to be holy?

    1- Distance between earth and sun = 108 times sun-diameter,
    2- Distance between earth and moon = 108 times moon-diameter,
    3- Diameter of the sun = 108 times the earth diameter.

    There are 12 rasi (sun signs) of 30 degrees each in the zodiac. These rasi are connected to the Adityas (12 Sun gods) and the rasi are said to give the results of the Sun. The Sun is karaka (significator) for the 1st and the houses 9th houses. When you take each rasi and divide it into nine amsas (divisions) it creates the Navamsa (9th divisional chart). 30 degrees divided by nine gives 9 signs of 3 degrees and 20 minutes each. With each of the 12 signs containing 9 amsas there is 108 amsas. This Navamsa shows the inherent qualities of the soul, a native’s dharma (purpose), bhagya (luck), and one’s spouse. The Navamsa is the 108 sign chart held in high esteem in Vedic astrology and a Vedic astrologer doesn’t read a birth chart without the navamsa sitting next to it.

    The Moon goes through the zodiac in approximately 27 days which creates the lunar zodiac called the nakshatras. The Moon is karaka (significator) for the 4th house. Each of these 27 lunar signs are divided into 4 amsas (divisions) called padas (feet/footsteps). The nakshatras (lunar signs) are 13-20 degrees and divided by four become 3-20 degrees. 27 nakshatras multiplied by 4 padas is 108.

    The 3-20 division reveals itself as the most crucial division. The Moon sign’s padas and the Sun sign’s navamsas line up with the number 108. 108 is the number where the Moon (manas) and Sun (atman/ahamkar) line up. It is where the Moon’s cycle can be aligned with the Sun’s cycle. 108 is a number that aligns the mind and the soul.

    The 3-20 division aligns the Sun and the Moon, which also shows the alignment of Shiva and Parvati or the Purusha and Prakritti. The 108 division is the coming together of Purusha and Prakritti, it is the creation of the world.

    There are a 108 marmas in the body. They are points that can heal or kill a living being. They are considered the points where consciousness connects to the body, where Purusha (consciousness) is brought into Prakritti (body) to give life to the living being (both humans and animals have these points). The 108 intersections on the Sri Chakra again relate to this numbers ability invoke the balance of Purusha and Prakritti and the primordial ability of the rishi to see both clearly.
    There are 108 Marmas in the body, junction points where Consciousness is tied into the the flesh. When we say 108 mantras it acts as a Kavach (protection) to each point.

    1 + 0 + 8 = 9. Nine is the number of completion. As zero is the first number and after 9 the numbers start to repeat themselves. The 9 substantial numbers are representing the 9 archetypes of human existence (the navagraha). Nine is sometimes connected to Ketu, the moksa Karaka (significator of liberation), the planet that brings higher awareness, expanded vision and moksha (liberation). Ketu is connected to the deity Ganesh who guards the door to the Mother
    Kundalini who gives us Moksha.

    In the Durga Saptasati, the goddess Durga has nine forms known as the Navadurga. The number 9 is connected to the goddess Durga whose yantra (geometric symbol) contains the 9 pointed star and who is celebrated on Navratri (the nine nights of the goddess). In Hindu Kalachakra astrology it is Durga who guards the prana of the body, she guards our core vitality.

    1 + 0 + 8 = 9. Numerologically, nine is a very special number, it always returns to itself. Look how it behaves with other numbers:
    9 x 1 = 9
    9 x 2 = 18, 1 + 8 = 9
    9 x 3 = 27, 2 + 7 = 9
    9 x 4 = 36, 3 + 6 = 9
    9 x 5 = 45, 4 + 5 = 9
    9 x 6 = 54, 5 + 4 = 9
    9 x 7 = 63, 6 + 3 = 9
    9 x 8 = 72, 7 + 2 = 9
    9 x 9 = 81, 8 + 1 = 9
    9 x 10=90, 9 + 0 = 9
    9 x 11=99, 9 + 9 = 18, 1 + 8 = 9
    9 x 12 = 108

    There are 108 spokes coming from the Hridaya (heart center) energizing the body. And when we do our mantras 108 times it allows the mantra to flow through each of these channels (as well as each of the 108 navamsas that a planet could be placed in).

    When the ocean of milk was churned in the beginning of time, it could only be done with the working unity of the devas (gods) and asuras (demons). They used a great snake to churn the ocean of milk (the milky way) there were 54 devas on the side of the tail and 54 asuras on the side of the heads. They churned the ocean searching for the amrita (the nectar of immortality). Before it arose from the ocean many poisons and blessing arose. These represent our 54 negative qualities that churn with the 54 positive qualities in the spiritual work of looking for the amrita within. This churning allows the kundalini to rise on the mountain axis of our spine with the turtle of the root chakra below.

    The 108 navamsa/padas are permanently charted into the zodiac. The Sun traverses these through out the year. The 54 demons are the Sun's Southern Course (Dakshina Ayana) where there is more darkness on the northern hemisphere. The 54 devas are the Northern Course of the Sun (Uttara Ayana). It is the time of the devas, where light is more prevelant.

    108 is a number which resonates throughout the universe, as this shows. The reason why we do our mantra jap 108 times is because its a symbol of our journey towards our higher/spiritual self (sun) from our material self (earth).
  2. Rudra Tartare

    Rudra Tartare New Member

    No words do justice to this great religion of ours.

Share This Page