How one can stay in the transcendental position, even in this body?

Discussion in 'Spiritual Forum' started by Spiritual Mind, Dec 8, 2015.

  1. Spiritual Mind

    Spiritual Mind New Member

    Nowadays many books urge us to think positive. Certainly, we shouldn’t shackle and cripple ourselves by negative thinking. But to tap positive thinking properly, we need to go beyond materialism, beyond the assumption that happiness can be found only in matter. Why? Because negative thinking is inherent to materialism.

    Negative thinking keeps our vision riveted to dark possibilities. Similarly, materialistic thinking keeps our vision riveted to material objects, limiting our perception of reality to the arena of matter, where our hopes for happiness are bound to be frustrated sooner or later. Material things are by their very nature temporary, whereas we long for lasting happiness. Gita wisdom explains that this longing comes from our spiritual core: the soul, which being eternal longs for eternal fulfillment. Material reality being perishable is incapable of living up to our expectations of happiness.

    By giving matter monopoly over our conceptions of happiness, we lock ourselves in a doomed pursuit – seeking the lasting in the fleeting.

    What makes us spiritual beings seek pleasure in temporary material things? The illusion induced by subtle material forces known as modes – they distort our perceptions according to the desires we have entertained in the past. The Gita (14.20) states that those who transcend the modes go beyond the miseries of material existence.

    For transcending the modes, the most efficacious way is bhakti-yoga. It enables us to find happiness in loving and serving Krishna, the all-attractive, all-loving supreme person. By thus providing us higher spiritual happiness, bhakti-yoga empowers us to engage material things without being enamored by them. And by living in the light of Krishna’s love, we embrace the highest positive thinking because, no matter what negative things happen to us, his love, being unfailing and unflinching, always shelters, encourages and empowers us.

    Bhagavad Gita Chapter 14 Verse 20
    guṇān etān atītya trīn
    dehī deha-samudbhavān
    vimukto 'mṛtam aśnute

    guṇān—qualities; etān—all these; atītya—transcending; trīn—three; dehī—body; deha—body; samudbhavān—produced of; janma—birth; mṛtyu—death; jarā—old age; duḥkhaiḥ—distresses; vimuktaḥ—being freed from; amṛtam—nectar; aśnute—enjoys.

    Lord Krishna Said: "When the embodied being is able to transcend these three modes, he can become free from birth, death, old age and their distresses and can enjoy nectar even in this life."

    The Sanskrit word dehī means embodied. Although one is within this material body, by his advancement in spiritual knowledge he can be free from the influence of the modes of nature. He can enjoy the happiness of spiritual life even in this body because, after leaving this body, he is certainly going to the spiritual sky. But even in this body he can enjoy spiritual happiness. In other words, devotional service in Kṛṣṇa consciousness is the sign of liberation from this material entanglement, and this will be explained in the Eighteenth Chapter. When one is freed from the influence of the modes of material nature, he enters into devotional service.

    The body is a temporary vehicle. Without the soul, the body is like a car without a driver.A pure devotee's body although made up of matter, but because of being in contact with the spirit, the body is spiritual.

    Joy can only be experienced when we offer our love to Krishna.

    A devotee is very forgiving and tolerant of others but is very strict and determined with himself guarding against Maya.

    Please accept my humble obeisances

    All glories to Srila Gurudeva ...
    All glories to Srila Prabhupada ...

    Always think of the Lotus Feet of Lord Krishna and you will find no difficulties in executing the tasks allotted to you by Krishna.

    Chant these names with love and you will feel the ecstasy:

    Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare
    Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare ...

    हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे || हरे राम हरे राम राम राम हरे हरे||

    Hare Krishna ... Jay Jagannath ...

    ~~ Bhakta Sanjay.

Share This Page