Number of years in all four yugs and Lifespan of humans in different yugs

Discussion in 'General discussion' started by Krishatg, Feb 20, 2016.

  1. Krishatg

    Krishatg New Member

    Four Yugs:-

    1. Satyayug :- 1728000 Years and human lifespan is around 100000 years
    2. Tretayug :- 1296000 Years and human lifespan is around 10000 years
    3. Dwapar :- 864000 Years and human lifespan is around 1000 years
    4. Kaliyug :- 432000 Years and human lifespan is around 100 years
  2. darkstar

    darkstar New Member

    I didn't know about the lifespans. According to my reading, there is a lot of disagreement about the lengths and dates of the yugs...

    "Contrary to many misinformed sources which state that the Kali Yuga is a 432,000 year period, it is actually a five to six thousand year cycle which includes both a dawn and a twilight" [1]

    "The Puranas and Laws of Manu agree that the four Yugas are in the proportion 4:3:2:1" [2]...
    "the system proposed by Sri Yukteswar Giri (1855-1936) ... adopts as his Maha Yuga a 24,000 year period, supposedly that of the precession of the equinoxes. He assigns half these years to a set of descending Yugas in the traditional proportion 4:3:2:1. By taking the “divine years” of the Puranas (see the first table, page 64) as human ones, they total 12,000 years. Then comes his real innovation: the cycle does not repeat, but starts a new set of four Yugas in reverse order. The link to historical chronology seems to be the traditional Kali Yuga starting-date of 3102 BCE, but moved to 3101" [2]

    "In the Mahabharata, Hanuman gives the following description of the Yuga Cycle... "The Krita Yuga was so named because there was but one religion, and all men were saintly: therefore they were not required to perform religious ceremonies…there were no poor and no rich; there was no need to labour because all that men required was obtained by the power of will…The Krita Yuga was without disease; there was no hatred, or vanity, or evil thought whatsoever; no sorrow, no fear. In the Treta Yuga sacrifices began, and the World Soul became Red; virtue lessened a quarter. Mankind sought truth and performed religious ceremonies; they obtained what they desired by giving and by doing. In the Dwapara Yuga the aspect of the World Soul was Yellow: religion lessened one-half. The Veda was divided into four parts - though some knew the four Vedas, others knew few. Mind lessened, Truth declined, and there came desire and diseases and calamities; because of these men had to undergo penances ... The popularly accepted date for the beginning of the Kali Yuga is 3102 BC, thirty-five years after the conclusion of the great battle of the Mahabharata" [3]

    Still others say Kali yug will end in 2025 [4] or in 70 years [5]. One much-cited clue is "There is a single reference to this date [3102 BCE] in the text Aryabhatiya, where Aryabhatta mentions that the text was composed 3,600 years into the Kali Yuga" and that text is from 499 CE. [3] Some of these sources are probably better than others.
    There are also distorted echos of this information in the West, e.g. Hesiod's idea of gold, silver, bronze and (?) ages, and legends of ancients living past 100
  3. rahul malik

    rahul malik New Member

    Satya Yuga lasted for --- 4 x 432000 years
    Treta Yuga lasted for ----3 x 432000 years
    Dvapara yuga lasted for- 2 x 432000 years
    Kali Yuga will last for ------- 432000 years

    Satya Yuga:- Average human lifespan was 100,000 years.
    Treta Yuga: -
    Average human lifespan was 10,000 years.
    Dwapar Yuga: - Average human lifespan was 1000 years.
    Kali Yuga: - Average human lifespan will be 100 years, and will decrease gradually.

Share This Page