Patanjali Yoga

Discussion in 'Yoga Forum' started by garry420, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. garry420

    garry420 Well-Known Member

    The purpose of Yoga is not just achieving good health. Yoga means to link oneself with God (Krishna) by concentrating the mind on Him and controlling the ever-disturbing senses. By the practice of yoga one gradually becomes free from materialistic attachments. This is the primary characteristic of the yoga process. When one is free of materialistic attachments one loses interest in the body and becomes interested in spiritual perfection.

    By the perfect practice of yoga one becomes completely happy in this life and, after death, one reaches the state of eternal happiness called liberation. In the perfect stage of yoga one is liberated from the cycle of material suffering (see Karma and Reincarnation) and goes to the spiritual world to serve God in perfect purity.

    Yoga includes different practices depending on ones level of spiritual advancement, and can be compared to a ladder for attaining the topmost spiritual realization. The complete ladder is called yoga and may be divided into 3 main parts. 1) Karma, 2) Jnana, and 3) Bhakti.

    1) Karma-yoga When a person knows the goal of life is Krishna (God), but is attached to working to get material comforts, then he is acting in karma-yoga.

    2) Jnana-yoga When he knows the goal is Krishna, but takes pleasure in mental speculation, he is acting in jnana-yoga.

    3) Bhakti-yoga When he knows the goal is Krishna and is not attached to any material thing, either gross or subtle, but simply desires to work for the pleasure of Krishna, then he is acting in bhakti-yoga. This is the highest perfection of the yoga system.
  2. yogivini

    yogivini New Member

    Thanks for the post very informative. There are numerous number of Yoga school in Rishikesh which provide 200 Hour certified yoga teacher training course in Rishikesh. To know the place better you have to check for the reviews of each yoga schools. There are plenty of yoga institute which provide the courses and hence you could always compare the same features that is provided by the yoga schools.

    Yoga Vini Rishikesh, India
  3. Senthil

    Senthil Active Member Staff Member

    Patanjalis's classical system involves 8 stages (some say limbs) of which the first two are yamas and niyamas. Yama is restraint, and niyama is observance. In this system, jnana is not a type of yoga, but a final stage or outcome.

Share This Page