She Is One of the Main Forms of Shakti She Is Durga

Discussion in 'Goddess' started by Ignorant, May 6, 2015.

  1. Ignorant

    Ignorant New Member

    She is considered as the mother of the entire Universe as a whole, and is known as Shakti which means power, and it is the power that works as a source behind the work of the entire creation, its preservation and also deals with its destruction. History has seen her presence in many of the Vedas like Yajur Veda, Vajasaneyi Samhita and also in the scripture of Taittareya Brahman.

    The meaning of Durga is the one who is inaccessible or the one who is invincible. She is believed to be the origination of Adi-Parashakti, or in other words she herself is taken to be the Adi-Parashakti, in whom and around whom the whole universe revolves, she is in it and the universe itself is believed to be created through her, she is also declared as the greatest Goddess in Gita, and has been considered as the supreme Goddess and one of the primary deity in Shaktism, which is similar to the place that Lord Krishna occupies in Vaishnavism. If we go by what is depicted in the Skanda Puran, Parvati who is the concert of Lord Shiva, after the killing of demon Durgamaasura was denoted with the name of Durga, which of course depicts the power of the Goddess. It is Goddess Parvati who is considered to be the complete incarnation of Adi Parashakti, where the other Goddesses are incarnations or manifestations.

    Durga has been seen incarnated in various forms like:

    · Kali – The Goddess who is associated with empowerment, and is the epitome of time and death, and worshipped to attain liberation.

    · Bhagvati – It is a general way of referral to Goddesses by the people of Kerala, Goa and Maharashtra, it means Goddess in general and can be Durga, Kali and the likes.

    · Bhavani – The name Bhavani means the one who gives life, but she is considered to be one of the most ferocious aspects of Durga, and is associated with the power that nature endures, or the very source of creative energy.

    · Ambika – She is prominent in the religion of Jainism and dedicated attendant deity or is also considered as the protector Goddess of the twenty second Tirthankara with the name Neminath. As per the traditional ethos she is believed to be golden in colour and is sitting on lion which is considered as her vehicle.

    · Lalita – Lalitha means “She who plays” and is believed to be a part of the group of ten Goddesses who are collectively known as the Mahavidyas or even known as the Dasha-Mahavidyas. The Lalitha Sahasramana describes her as one of the most or on other words extremely merciful Goddesses who have the power of leading her devotee in the path of liberation.

    · Gauri – She is the aspect of Durga who is connected with fertility and also abundance and has been also described as Lajja which means modesty. As her fertility aspect one will find her womb represented as a blooming lotus flower, which depicts the story of creation and youth.

    · Kundalini – A form of Shakti, is described as an indwelling spiritual energy which exists in every human being and can be awakened to purify the system and to bestow the state of Yoga, and help the seeker find the meaning of Truth associated with life and divinity.

    · Rajeswari – She too is one of the powerful forms of Durga or Shakti, she is said to be the one who blesses her worshipper with the true joy of living, and she is imbibed with the power to create as well as destroy the entire universe.

    Hence Durga, the supreme form is believed to be the united strength of all the above, or the above name are the aspects of Durga, or Shakti who can be remembered or worshipped with various believes.

Share This Page